Skip to content
August 2026 · updated 2026-08-25

Best AI SDR Tools: A Ranking with Nothing to Sell

Every ranked list on page one for this query was written by a company selling one of the tools, and all four put themselves first

Here is the trap. Search best AI SDR tools and you get nine organic results. Four of them are ranked lists, and all four were published by a company that sells one of the tools. All four put that company first.

Salesforge ranks Agent Frank at number one. Simular ranks Simular Pro at number one. Amplemarket ranks Amplemarket's Duo at number one and shows its working, scoring itself 219 out of 231. Dealmayker leads its own comparison table with Dealmayker at $29 a month.

The mirror case sits above all of them. Google's AI Overview answers the query before you scroll, and it cites seven sources. Every one of the seven is a company selling in the category. The vendor's self-ranking has been laundered into what reads like a neutral summary.

Nothing on this page is a measurement. We have not run a message through any of these products, we have not seen an invoice, and no figure below came from a test we ran.

What we have is every published price in the category read off the vendor's own page with the date recorded, a procurement aggregator's observed contract values where they exist, a byline audit of the pages currently ranking, and a docket search. We take no money from any company named here and this particular page carries no affiliate links at all.

What follows: the criteria, stated before the ranking rather than reverse-engineered from it. The ranking itself, eight places plus the six we will not rank and why. A 14-row comparison across the whole category. The byline audit with URLs and the date checked.

Then the arithmetic on what being wrong costs, which runs from $10 to $45,000. A five-minute procedure for auditing any list like this, including ours. And what happens in month three, which is the part the vendor lists leave out.

What are the best AI SDR tools, and what is the ranking built on?

The short answer, and it will annoy people who wanted a single name: the best AI SDR tool is the cheapest one that can prove itself wrong. This category has a failure rate high enough that the price of a failed experiment dominates the price of a successful one.

The tools differ on that by a factor of 4,500. Bardeen lets you find out for $10. 11x has a median observed contract of $45,000 a year, with no published price and no self-serve door.

So the criteria are these five, and they are stated here so you can disagree with the weighting rather than guess at it. First, does the vendor publish a price a buyer can see, in a currency, for a stated period. Second, can you buy it without a sales call.

Third, what is the minimum commitment, which is the real number rather than the monthly rate. Fourth, where a procurement aggregator has observed real contract values, what were they and how wide is the spread. Fifth, what is the tool genuinely bad at.

That fifth criterion is the one worth dwelling on, because it is the reason this page can exist. Every entity record on this site carries a required field naming what the tool is wrong for, and the schema will not accept a record without one. A vendor writing about its own product cannot fill that field in honestly and stay employed, which is why the four vendor lists on page one contain criticism of every product except the publisher's.

What these criteria deliberately exclude: feature counts, G2 scores, integration lists and anything described as accuracy or quality. We have not tested output quality on any of these tools and neither has anybody publishing a ranking for this query. A list that claims to have compared message quality across nine products, without publishing the corpus, the prompt or the sample size, has compared marketing pages.

What actually counts as an AI SDR?

You have now read six paragraphs about a category without a definition, which is roughly the experience of shopping in it. The term covers at least three different products and the vendor lists move between them freely, because a wider definition means more competitors to rank below yourself.

An AI SDR, used strictly, is software sold as a replacement for a sales development representative: it picks the accounts, writes the messages, sends them, handles the replies and books the meeting, with a human reviewing rather than doing.

11x and Artisan are sold this way, as headcount rather than as tooling, and priced accordingly. That is the strict sense, and by it the category has maybe six members.

The loose sense covers anything with a model somewhere in an outbound workflow, which is how a browser automation tool at $10 a month and a $45,000 annual contract end up on the same list. Clay is a data orchestration surface with the outbound left entirely to you. Aomni writes account briefings and sends nothing. Both are ranked as AI SDRs on pages currently on page one, and neither replaces a rep.

The distinction decides your budget, so make it before you shortlist. If you are buying a replacement for a person, you are in a $9,000 to $65,640 annual market with no published prices. If you are buying a layer for reps you already employ, you are in a $10 to $600 monthly market where most vendors publish.

Our fuller treatment of the boundary is in what an AI SDR actually is, and the category page lists all 14 with the split visible at AI SDR and outbound.

Who publishes the pages ranking for this query?

These are Google's US results for best ai sdr tools on 13 August 2026: nine organic results, each read for its byline against the tools it ranks first. The table below is the whole result set rather than a selection, and every URL is live so you can re-run it.

SlotDomainWho owns itSells in this category?Ranks itself first?Discloses the conflict?
1salesforge.aiSalesforgeYes, sells Agent FrankYes, Agent Frank at #1No
2reddit.com/r/AI_AgentsUser forumNon/an/a
3aisdr.comAiSDRYesVendor homepage, not a listn/a
4simular.aiSimular Inc.Yes, sells Simular ProYes, Simular Pro at #1No
5amplemarket.comAmplemarketYes, sells DuoYes, Duo at #1, self-scored 219/231No
6reddit.com/r/SaaSUser forumNon/an/a
7signalfire.comSignalFire, a venture firmInvests rather than sellsNoPartial, at the foot of the page
8dealmayker.comDealmayker, Inc.Yes, sells at $29/moYes, leads its own tableNo
9youtube.comVideo, third-party channelNon/an/a

Five of nine slots belong to a company selling in the category. Four of those five are ranked lists. Four of four rank the publisher first. That is not a tendency, it is every single instance, and the count is small enough that you should hold it loosely and large enough that a buyer should notice.

SignalFire is the interesting exception and deserves credit rather than a sneer. It is a venture firm, it sells no tool, its two named authors are identified, and it carries a disclosure: "Portfolio company founders listed above have not received any compensation for this feedback and may or may not have invested in a SignalFire fund."

That disclosure is real, and it is also doing a lot of work in one sentence at the foot of a page that recommends Unify and Clay without saying whether the firm holds either position. Dated 6 October 2025, it is also the oldest page in the set and publishes no prices at all.

Google's AI Overview cites seven sources and sells you something on all seven

Above the organic results sits the AI Overview, which most people read instead of the results. Its opening sentence names four tools: Amplemarket "for human-in-the-loop multi-channel execution", 11x.ai "for autonomous digital workers", Artisan AI "for pre-built AI sales employees", and AiSDR "for turnkey inbound/outbound automation". Then it lists its sources. There are seven.

RefSource domainWhat that company sellsIndependent?
0amplemarket.comAmplemarket Duo, ranked #1 by the cited page itselfNo
1salesforge.aiAgent Frank, listed here at $48/moNo
2coldreach.aiColdreach, an AI SDR agentNo
311x.aiAlice, ranked #1 by the cited page itselfNo
4pipeline.zoominfo.comZoomInfo Copilot and the data layer beneath itNo
5squirrels.aiAn AI SDR agent, promoted in the cited pageNo
6aircall.ioAircall, listed here at $120/moNo

Seven of seven. Reference zero, the source Google leans on for the opening sentence and for three of the four bullets under "Choosing the Right Approach", is Amplemarket's own blog post.

On that page Amplemarket writes that "the best AI sales agent in 2026 is Amplemarket's Duo Copilot, which scored 219 out of 231". Google's summary then reports Amplemarket as best for human-in-the-loop execution, in Google's voice, with no byline attached.

This is the mechanism worth understanding, because it survives any change to the ten blue links. An AI summary inherits the bias of its citations and strips the attribution that would let you weigh them. A vendor's self-assessment arrives as a neutral finding.

The countermeasure is not to distrust AI Overviews in general. It is to click the citation chips, which takes about fifteen seconds, and see whose logo is at the top of each one.

Google US results, 13 August 2026. SERPs move and AI Overviews move faster. If yours differs, write to corrections and this gets re-run and re-dated. Free to cite: all seven sources cited by Google's AI Overview for best ai sdr tools were companies selling in the category (AI SDR Resources, 13 August 2026).

Why won't we source a word against Artisan from 11x?

11x publishes a guide page titled 10 Best AI SDR Tools for B2B Sales Teams in 2026, dated 6 May 2026, and Google's AI Overview cites it. It ranks 11x first and Artisan fourth. It is also, in our records, the original source for a widely repeated claim that Artisan's LinkedIn presence was suspended for roughly two weeks over the turn of 2026.

We are not repeating that claim, and the reason is a rule rather than a kindness. Criticism of a product that rests solely on a direct competitor's page is not evidence, it is marketing with a citation attached.

We looked for independent corroboration and did not find any we could stand behind. So the claim stays out, and it stays out even though it is the kind of detail that makes a page feel well informed.

The same rule cuts the other way and costs us a better story. Amplemarket's page says of 11x that "enterprise procurement teams should require independent verification of every claim 11x.ai makes" and reports "75 to 90% churn at 3 months". That is a vendor claim about a competitor's product and we will not carry it as a finding.

We can report that Amplemarket published it, because that is a fact about Amplemarket's page rather than about 11x. We can also note that the figure is a third distinct version of a churn number that mutates every time it changes hands, which is the next section.

What we will use instead, on 11x specifically, is press with a named byline and quotes we matched against the live page. Marina Temkin's TechCrunch investigation of 24 March 2025 carries an employee saying the company was "losing 70-80% of customers that came through the door", and 11x on the record saying its "retention rate is currently 79%".

Both are quoted verbatim because both were verified by literal string match on the fetched page. The gap between them is the story, and neither number came from a competitor.

The churn figure that changes every time it is repeated

A single statistic underpins most writing about this category: that AI SDR churn runs 50 to 70 percent annually. It circulates attributed to UserGems across many 2026 publications, but no primary source for it is known and UserGems' own site carries no such claim, so it goes in the ledger as attributed but not verified at source, and it appears here carrying that marker.

The more useful observation is that the claim mutates. Some sources render it as 50 to 70 percent annual tool churn. Others render it as 50 to 70 percent of AI SDR projects dying within 90 days. Those are different statements about different things, and no source we found explains the switch.

Amplemarket's page pushes it further to 75 to 90 percent at three months, aimed at one named competitor. A number that grows and changes meaning as it travels is a number that has stopped being measured.

Where a specific vendor figure exists, prefer it to the category range. 11x's own on-record 79 percent retention implies 21 percent churn, which is far below every circulating category figure and comes from the company itself. Vendor-reported, so treat it as a ceiling rather than a floor.

Hold both. The vendor's number is favourable and attributable, the category range is unfavourable and unattributable, and an honest page publishes the disagreement rather than picking the half that suits its argument.

Gartner's prediction that more than 40 percent of agentic AI projects will be cancelled by the end of 2027 sits on Gartner's own domain in Gartner's own headline, dated 25 June 2025, so the prediction itself is attributable. This page does not quote its reasoning. A prediction is not a measurement in any case. It tells you the analyst's prior, not your outcome.

What does being wrong actually cost?

Every ranking in this category answers the wrong question. They ask which tool is best, which nobody can know before running it on your list, in your market, with your offer.

The answerable question is what it costs to find out you were wrong, and that is fully determined by published information: the entry price and the minimum commitment.

ToolSmallest cheque you can writeWhy that is the floorPrice read
Bardeen$10$10/mo, self-serve, free tier, monthly billing12 Aug 2026
Clay$185$185/mo, self-serve, free tier to start on11 Aug 2026
Aomni$300$300/mo, self-serve, free tier12 Aug 2026
AiSDR$750$250/mo entry tier, but billed quarterly, so three months minimum11 Aug 2026
Amplemarket$7,200$600/mo for two users on an annual term, no self-serve11 Aug 2026
Artisan$9,000Lowest observed annual contract; no price published anywhere5 Aug 2026
Regie.ai$21,600$180/user/mo annual with a ten-seat minimum5 Aug 2026
11x$39,750Lowest observed annual contract; no price published anywhere11 Aug 2026
Topo, Alta, Jazon, Floworks, Beanbag, PiperNot stated publiclyNo price on any page; the first number arrives on a calln/a

From $10 to $45,000 at 11x's observed median is a spread of 4,500 times, on products that page one presents as alternatives to one another.

Note where the quarterly billing sits. AiSDR publishes $250 a month and looks like the cheap full-stack option, and the smallest purchase is $750 because the term is a quarter. Its $900 tier means $2,700 committed, and that tier buys 1,200 messages, which is roughly a fortnight of real outbound for a single territory.

Regie.ai produces the strangest floor in the category. Its cheaper plan carries a ten-seat minimum and its dearer plan a five-seat minimum, so a team of five pays $29,940 a year while a team of ten pays $21,600.

The published $180 per user is real, and the entry price is not available to anyone smaller than ten people. Read the seat minimum before the seat rate on every tool in this category.

What churn does to the number you were quoted

Annual contracts in a category with a high failure rate are not priced at their sticker. If you cancel in month four having paid for twelve, you did not buy a year of software. You bought four useful months at three times the monthly rate.

Modelled from stated assumptions rather than measured, the expected cost per useful month is (1 minus p) times annual over 12, plus p times annual over M, where p is the probability of failure and M is the month it fails.

Failure probabilityMultiplier on sticker (fails at month 4)$45,000 contract, per useful monthHeld meetings/mo needed to break even
40%1.80x$6,7506 to 7
50%2.00x$7,5007 to 8
60%2.20x$8,2508 to 9
70%2.40x$9,0008 to 10
80%2.60x$9,7509 to 10

The multiplier is independent of contract size, which is why it is worth carrying in your head. At a 50 percent failure rate and a month-four exit, any annual deal costs twice its sticker per useful month.

Against this site's costing of an in-house rep at $960 to $1,100 per held meeting, a $45,000 contract needs roughly eight held meetings a month before it beats hiring, and that is eight held rather than eight booked. The full derivation is in the churn-adjusted cost of an AI SDR and the rep costing in what an SDR costs.

One clause collapses all of it. A break at month three or four takes the churn premium to zero, because the bad outcome then costs the same per useful month as the good one, at every contract size.

TechCrunch's reporting notes 11x offered a break clause "typically at three months", though 11x says a majority of its mid-market customers qualify for other terms, so do not assume it is standard. Ask for it in writing.

The counter-case matters and most pages pushing break clauses omit it. A three-month break beats a 20 percent discount only above a 30.0 percent failure probability, which is where $9,000 saved by the discount equals $30,000 stranded on a $45,000 deal.

Below 30 percent, take the discount. 11x's own published 79 percent retention implies 21 percent churn, which is under the breakeven. If you believe the vendor's number, the discount wins.

All 14 AI SDR tools, side by side

This is the full category as this directory records it, rather than a shortlist chosen to make a point. Prices were read off each vendor's own page on the date shown. "Not stated publicly" means exactly that, and we have not filled a single cell with an estimate dressed as a fact.

ToolEntry pricePricing modelSelf-serveMinimum termObserved annual contractWhat it is bad at
Bardeen$10/mo [vendor, 12 Aug]Flat, free tierYesMonthlyNone recordedBrowser automation breaks when a site changes its markup, and it will
Clay$185/mo [vendor, 11 Aug]Usage credits, free tierYesMonthlyNone recordedSteepest learning curve in the category; unused credits expire
AiSDR$250/mo [vendor, 11 Aug]Per messageYesQuarterlyNone recorded$900 buys 1,200 messages, about a fortnight of real outbound
Aomni$300/mo [vendor, 12 Aug]Flat, free tierYesMonthlyNone recordedResearch depth is wasted in a high-volume SMB motion
Amplemarket$600/mo [vendor, 11 Aug]Usage creditsNoAnnualNot stated publicly600 phone credits/user/yr against 13,500 email; calling needs the unpriced tier
Regie.ai$180/user/mo [vendor, 5 Aug]Per seatNoAnnual, 10-seat min$21,600 published floorA team of five pays $29,940; a team of ten pays $21,600
ArtisanNot stated publiclyCustomNoAnnual$9,000 to $57,000, median $21,000 [aggregator]A 6x spread on the same product means the quote is an opening bid
11xNot stated publiclyCustomNoAnnual$39,750 to $65,640, median $45,000 [aggregator]The most expensive place to discover the motion does not work
Piper by QualifiedNot stated publiclyCustomNoNot stated publiclyNone recordedTied to Salesforce; on HubSpot most of the reason to buy disappears
TopoNot stated publiclyCustomNoAnnualNone recordedSmaller data footprint; North American coverage will disappoint
AltaNot stated publiclyCustomNoAnnualNone recordedBreadth this early usually means nothing is finished
JazonNot stated publiclyCustom, free tierNoNot stated publiclyNone recordedSelf-hosting means you own deliverability, infra and the model bill
FloworksNot stated publiclyCustom, free tierNoNot stated publiclyNone recordedSmaller integration surface; verify CRM writes before committing
Beanbag AINot stated publiclyCustom, free tierNoNot stated publiclyNone recordedEarly stage; treat published capability claims as roadmap

Eight of fourteen publish no price. Nine of fourteen have no self-serve checkout. The two sets overlap without being identical, which is the detail that catches buyers out: publishing a price and letting you buy are separate decisions.

Amplemarket publishes $600 while still requiring the call. The wider census across all 264 tools on this site is in who publishes a price.

The ranking, part one: what you can buy today

Ranked on the five criteria above, weighted toward cost of being wrong, because that is the criterion the published data can actually support. A tool ranked low here is not a bad product. It is a product you cannot evaluate cheaply, and several of them may well be excellent.

1. Clay, at $185 a month

It publishes a price, sells self-serve, bills monthly, and has a free tier you can learn on before paying anything. It is also the most capable and least self-explanatory product in the category.

So the honest caveat is that if nobody on your team will spend a fortnight learning it, the credits expire unused and you have bought nothing. Rank one on cost of being wrong, with a real staffing condition attached.

2. Bardeen, at $10 a month

The cheapest way to find out whether automating your research step is worth anything. It is not an AI SDR in the strict sense and does not pretend to be. Browser automation is brittle by nature and breaks when a target site changes its markup. At $10 on monthly billing, discovering that costs less than lunch.

3. AiSDR, at $250 a month billed quarterly

The only full-stack AI SDR in the category that publishes a number, which makes it the only one you can put in a budget before taking a sales call. Quarterly billing is genuinely unusual here and it works in your favour against the annual norm.

Price the message cap rather than the dollar figure. 1,200 messages is the constraint, and at working volume the effective cost is several times the headline.

4. Aomni, at $300 a month

Published price, self-serve, free tier, monthly. It assembles account briefings and sends nothing, so judge it against the hour of manual research it removes rather than against a salary. In a motion where a rep gets ninety seconds an account, a briefing nobody reads is a subscription nobody needs.

The ranking, part two: what needs a sales call

5. Amplemarket, at $600 a month on an annual term

Publishes an entry price and still requires a sales call, which is an unusual combination and costs it three places. The signal triggers are built in rather than wired up from a separate intent vendor, which is a real saving.

Check the phone row before anything else. The published tier grants 600 phone credits per user per year against 13,500 email credits, so a calling motion needs the tier with no published price.

6. Regie.ai, at $180 a user a month

Publishes a real per-seat rate and a real minimum, which is more disclosure than eight tools below it manage. The minimum is the problem. $21,600 a year is the smallest purchase available and the plan structure means five people pay more than ten. Ranked here because you can at least compute your exposure before the call.

7. Artisan, observed median $21,000 a year

No published price, annual term, and an observed contract range from $9,000 to $57,000 for what is nominally the same product. That six-times spread is the most useful fact available about Artisan's pricing: where a range is that wide, the list price is an anchor rather than a price, and any quote you receive is an opening bid.

Tiers are sized by leads contacted per month, so the price rises with the thing a working product increases. Reported second-hand rather than by us, its CEO has publicly acknowledged low response rates, high churn and early hallucination problems, which is more candour than any of the four ranking pages offers.

8. 11x, observed median $45,000 a year

The most scrutinised company in the category and the most expensive place to discover your motion does not work. Ranked last among the priced tools purely on cost of being wrong: no published price, no self-serve entry, annual commitment, and an observed range topping out at $65,640.

If you have already proven the motion manually and want one vendor accountable for the whole thing, the argument for it is real. If you have not, this is a $45,000 experiment.

Unranked: Topo, Alta, Jazon, Floworks, Beanbag AI, Piper

Six tools publish no price, offer no self-serve path and have no observed contract data we could find. We are not ranking them, because ranking them would mean ranking their marketing.

That is a finding rather than an omission. 43 percent of this category cannot be compared on cost by any member of the public.

Topo is worth a call if EU data residency is a hard requirement, and Piper if you are Salesforce-native with real inbound traffic. Both on the understanding that the first number you hear will be the first number they choose.

How do you audit any list like this in five minutes?

This procedure runs on any "best tools" page in any category, takes about five minutes, needs nothing but a browser, and has a pass mark. Run it on this page too. We would rather you did.

Step 1, thirty seconds: check the domain against the number one pick. Look at the URL in the address bar, then look at what sits in first place. If the domain and the top pick are the same company, you are reading an advertisement with a numbered list.

This single check disqualified four of the nine results for this query. It is the highest-yield thirty seconds in software buying and almost nobody does it.

Step 2, forty-five seconds: search the page for a disclosure. Ctrl-F for "affiliate", "disclosure", "commission" and "sponsored". Zero hits on a page ranking commercial products means either there is no commercial relationship, which is rare, or there is one and it is not being declared.

Of the four vendor lists we checked, none carried any conflict statement. SignalFire, which is not selling a tool, was the only page in the set with a disclosure of any kind.

Step 3, sixty seconds: check whether the prices carry a date. Find any price on the page and look for the date it was read. Not the article's publication date, the date somebody looked at that vendor's pricing page. Almost no page in this category has one.

When this site re-read 96 listing prices in a single sweep on 12 August 2026, roughly half had moved or were wrong, and three had no vendor origin at all. An undated price is a rumour with a dollar sign.

Step 4, ninety seconds: check whether anything is criticised. Read the section on the number one pick and look for a sentence naming something it is bad at. Then read the sections on positions four through ten and count the criticisms there.

A page that criticises everything except its top pick has told you who wrote it, regardless of what the byline says. Simular's page criticises Apollo, Lemlist and HubSpot Sales Hub, and describes Simular Pro as the tool that "can do the work".

Step 5, sixty seconds: click the AI Overview citations. If the answer you are acting on came from an AI summary, open the citation chips and read the domains. Seven of seven on this query sell in the category. You are looking for a single independent source and you will often not find one.

Pass mark. A list passes if it clears at least four of the five: the publisher does not sell the top pick, a disclosure exists, prices carry read dates, the top pick is criticised somewhere, and at least one cited source is independent. Of the nine results for this query, the four vendor lists score 0 or 1 out of 5. SignalFire scores 3, losing points on undated content and no prices. This page scores 5 and you should verify that rather than take it from us.

What happens after you buy the tool that ranked first on a vendor's list

The vendor lists end at the purchase. Month three is where the interesting material lives, and it is almost entirely in forums and press rather than on any ranking page.

On Hacker News thread 46346648, Ask HN: Resources to get better at outbound sales? (240 points, 68 comments, 21 December 2025), a commenter sets out the structural problem: "sales is a zero sum game. When everyone can do something at scale, like send an email sequence, nobody wins. Now inboxes are flooded with spam that get deleted and phones go straight to voicemail because people have learned it's not worth it."

That is one practitioner's characterisation rather than a finding of fact, and it describes a mechanism your vendor's case study cannot: the tool works and the channel degrades anyway, because your competitors bought the same tool. Plan for a declining baseline rather than a fixed one.

Thread 46410153 (53 points, 25 comments, 28 December 2025) covers Salesforce narrowing Agentforce from open-ended model behaviour toward deterministic automation. One commenter asks the question that lands hardest on autonomous SDR claims: "if you have deterministic workflows, what do the llms still add?"

That is a fair challenge to the entire premium the top of this category charges. If the agent needs a rail on every decision that matters, you have bought a sequencer at agent prices. Ask in the pilot which decisions the product makes without a human, and get the answer written down.

Thread 44118322, Heads up: Backblaze is using AI SDRs (28 May 2025), is short and it is the one to show your legal team. The poster writes: "I received a call from a Backblaze sales person asking for '27 seconds of my time' to my personal cellphone. My cell is on the US 'do not call' list, but was dialed anyway."

He asked directly whether it was an AI agent, it confirmed that it was, and then "I asked for a supervisor, or to a compliance/legal contact and it then refused". His follow-up adds that "the AI agent did not identify itself as an AI agent until I asked".

Those are allegations by a member of the public, not adjudicated findings, and no regulator has ruled on them. They are still the exact shape of the month-three risk.

The FCC's declaratory ruling of 8 February 2024, FCC 24-17 in docket 23-362, adopted unanimously and effective immediately, makes AI-generated and cloned voices "artificial" under the TCPA, so such calls need prior express consent. TCPA exposure runs $500 to $1,500 per call with no aggregate cap.

The poster's closing line is the commercial risk in one sentence: he will "never use Backblaze (or anyone that uses this type of telesales) approach". One call, one customer, published permanently.

Thread 43823851, Is outbound going to die? (129 points, 116 comments, 28 April 2025), opens with "Whether it's crafted by AI or not, outbound is spam, and only scammy companies use it these days", and the sharpest reply is a defence rather than an agreement: "It's spammy. It isnt scammy." That is the split you are buying into.

On a more recent thread, 49262172, Ethical Cold Outreach (56 points, 76 comments, 11 August 2026), a commenter states the objection that no personalisation engine answers: "I don't care what you think I'll be interested in. I might be, but you're too biased for me to trust you to give me reliable information about the product."

If you sell to engineers, read those two threads before signing anything. They will not tell you whether the software works. They will tell you what the receiving end of it thinks, which is a variable no vendor list models and which decides your reply rate.

Two of the tools on these lists are suing each other

Federal court records tell a different story from the ranking pages. Most vendors named on them have no federal dockets at all, Amplemarket and Salesforge among them. Two names have a great deal, and neither appears on any ranking page for this query.

ZoomInfo Technologies LLC filed a patent infringement complaint against Zenleads Inc. on 14 March 2025 in the District of Delaware, docket 1:25-cv-00324, with a jury demand and six exhibits. The docket text names the defendant as "Zenleads Inc. d/b/a Apollo.io". Summons was served on 17 March 2025 with an answer due 7 April 2025.

Simular ranks Apollo.io second on its list and 11x ranks it third. ZoomInfo publishes its own competing ranking and Google's AI Overview cites it. None of the three mentions the litigation. These are allegations in a live case and nothing has been ruled.

Apollo's legal entity carries four private suits as well: Bellanca (N.D. Ohio, 1:23-cv-01094, filed 31 May 2023), Wilhelm (N.D. Ohio, 1:24-cv-00506, 19 March 2024), Masry (N.D. Cal., 3:24-cv-07924, 12 November 2024) and Cochrane (N.D. Cal., 3:25-cv-04970, 12 June 2025), the last of which was still live in December 2025 with the plaintiff opposing an amended motion to dismiss. All allegations, none ruled on.

ZoomInfo itself faces a securities class action, Tejada, filed 25 June 2026 in the Western District of Washington, docket 2:26-cv-02211, with a class period running 3 November 2025 to 11 May 2026. The complaint alleges defendants "overstated their confidence in statements related to the Company's projected revenue outlook, the growth of its AI-driven products and its sustained improvement in net revenue retention". Allegation, pending.

The underlying figure is public. Net revenue retention was 87 percent in the 10-K filed 25 February 2025, 90 percent in the 10-K filed 12 February 2026, and 89 percent in the 10-Q filed 5 August 2026, which states that figure for both 30 June 2026 and 30 June 2025 and so is not a decline.

One more filing search is worth reporting for what it did not find. A full text search of SEC EDGAR returns exactly two documents containing the phrase "AI SDR", both 6-K filings from a single company, and zero in any 10-K ever filed. "AI SDRs" returns zero. "AI sales development" returns zero.

A category that page one describes as replacing the sales development function has never been named in a US annual report. That does not make it unreal. It does mean nobody with an audited disclosure obligation has yet had to describe it to a regulator.

So what do you actually buy this week?

Three concrete moves, in order, and all of them executable before Friday.

One. Price the self-serve half of the category first and use it as your anchor. Six of the fourteen tools here can be bought today for between $10 and $600 a month. Run one of them for a quarter on a real list before you take a single call with a vendor whose price is Custom.

You will walk into that call knowing what the work costs, and a Custom quote loses most of its power against a buyer who already has a number.

Two. On any annual deal, ask for a break clause at month three or four in writing, and price it against the discount on offer. Above a 30 percent chance of failure the break is worth more than 20 percent off. Below it, take the money.

Decide which side of 30 percent you are on before the call, because in the call you will be told the failure rate is low.

Three. Compute your break-even in held meetings before you see a demo. Take the annual figure, apply the churn multiplier for your own honest failure estimate, divide by twelve, and divide again by your cost per held meeting.

For a $45,000 contract at a 50 percent failure rate, that is roughly eight held meetings a month. If your current reps do not clear eight, no software in this category will make the arithmetic work, and you have saved yourself a year.

The pricing mechanics that make step one harder than it sounds, including the hidden toggles, suppressed cells and currency defaults, are documented in a pricing page is not a price.

What this page does not know

The measurement missing from this page, and from every page ranking for this query, is output performance. Nobody has published a controlled comparison of reply rate, meeting-hold rate and cost per held meeting across these tools on a common list.

The experiment that would produce it is specific and expensive. Take one ICP definition and one 5,000-contact list, split it into matched cohorts, run each tool for a full quarter from separate warmed domains with identical offers, and report replies, held meetings and spam-complaint rate per cohort with domain reputation controlled.

At the prices in the table above, running that across even six tools costs somewhere north of $70,000 for a single quarter, before the cost of the operator running it. Nobody publishes it, and this page has not run it either.

What to do instead of waiting for the study: buy the smallest priced tool that plausibly covers your motion, run it for one quarter on a real list, and measure your own reply rate and held-meeting rate. That is $555 at Clay's monthly rate or $750 at AiSDR's quarterly minimum, and it produces a number that applies to your market rather than to somebody else's.

So who does write the best AI SDR lists?

Nobody with a large enough audience to matter, which is why the two Reddit threads hold slots two and six on this SERP. Buyers have worked out that the ranked pages are written by sellers and have gone looking for anywhere else, and the anywhere else is fifteen conflicting anecdotes in a comment section. That is the actual state of the category in August 2026.

The honest version of the answer is that a good list in this category is identifiable by structure rather than by author. It states its criteria before its conclusions. It dates every price. It names what its top pick is bad at.

It says which sources it refused to use and why, which is why we would not take a word about Artisan from 11x's guide page or a word about 11x from Amplemarket's. And it publishes a procedure you can use to check it, which is the five steps above.

On the query itself: buy Clay at $185 if your bottleneck is list quality and somebody will learn it. Buy AiSDR at $250 a month billed quarterly if you want the full-stack motion without an annual commitment, and plan around the 1,200-message cap rather than the price.

Take the call with 11x or Artisan only after you have proven the motion by hand, because a median of $45,000 and $21,000 respectively is a great deal of money to spend learning something a quarter with a $250 tool would have told you.

One commenter on the Ethical Cold Outreach thread wrote that "comparison and review websites are also now a cesspool of spam and misshapen incentives". He is describing page one for this query with reasonable accuracy. The correct response to that from a page like this one is not a protest. It is to publish the audit, publish the criteria, and invite the same test.

Questions

What is the best AI SDR tool in 2026?
On published, checkable criteria, Clay at $185 a month is the best place to start, because it publishes a price, sells self-serve, bills monthly and has a free tier, so being wrong costs one month. AiSDR at $250 a month billed quarterly is the best full-stack option because it is the only one in the category that publishes a number at all. Anyone telling you a single name without telling you their criteria first has told you about their business model rather than about the tools.
Why does almost every 'best AI SDR tools' page rank a different tool first?
Because in four of the nine cases we checked on 13 August 2026, the tool ranked first was the one the publisher sells. Salesforge ranks Agent Frank first, Simular ranks Simular Pro first, Amplemarket ranks Amplemarket first, and Dealmayker leads with Dealmayker. The lists disagree because they are not attempts at the same answer.
Is Google's AI Overview a safe shortcut for this query?
Not on this one. Its answer cites seven sources and all seven are companies selling in the category, including two whose pages rank themselves first. The summary presents their self-assessments without the byline that would let you discount them. Click the citation chips before acting on it, which takes about fifteen seconds.
How much does an AI SDR actually cost?
It depends entirely on which sense of the term you mean. Layers for reps you already employ run $10 to $600 a month with published prices. Full-stack replacements run $9,000 to $65,640 a year with no published prices at all, and a procurement aggregator puts the median at $21,000 for Artisan and $45,000 for 11x. Eight of the fourteen tools in this category publish no price, so the honest answer for those is that we do not know and neither does anyone else outside the company.
Why won't you repeat what 11x says about Artisan, or what Amplemarket says about 11x?
Because criticism resting solely on a direct competitor's page is marketing with a citation attached. We looked for independent corroboration of 11x's claim about Artisan's LinkedIn suspension and did not find any we could stand behind, so it is not here. Amplemarket's '75 to 90% churn at 3 months' figure about 11x gets the same treatment. We can report that each page published those claims, because that is a checkable fact about the page, and we use named press with verified quotes where we need a specific number about a specific vendor.
Is the 50 to 70 percent AI SDR churn figure real?
It circulates widely, it is attributed to UserGems across many 2026 publications, and no primary source for it is known, so it carries an unverified marker here. It also mutates: some sources render it as annual tool churn and others as projects dying within 90 days, which are different claims. Where a specific vendor number exists, prefer it. 11x has said on the record that its retention is 79 percent, which is vendor-reported and should be treated as a ceiling.
Should I take the annual discount or ask for a break clause?
Break clause above roughly a 30 percent chance the tool fails, discount below it. The crossover is where $9,000 saved by a 20 percent discount equals $30,000 stranded on a $45,000 deal if you exit at month three. Decide which side you are on before the sales call rather than during it, and note that if you believe 11x's published 79 percent retention you are below the crossover and should take the discount.
Does this site make money from the tools it ranks?
Affiliate relationships exist elsewhere on this site and are disclosed on the pages where they apply. This page carries none. More importantly they cannot affect any ranking, because the scoring code is forbidden from importing the affiliate data and a build check fails if that ever changes. That is a claim you can verify by inspection rather than one you have to take on trust, which is the whole point of doing it that way.
How do I check whether a tools list is trustworthy?
Five steps, about five minutes. Check whether the domain matches the number one pick. Search the page for the words affiliate, disclosure, commission and sponsored. Check whether prices carry the date they were read. Check whether anything at all is said against the top pick. Click the AI Overview citations and look for one independent domain. Four out of five is a pass. Run it on this page as well.

Tools mentioned

All tools →

Sources

Source interests are labelled. Almost everything published about this subject is written by someone selling into it.

More from the blog

All posts →